Brandon's Notepad

May 28, 2009

Linux & Mobile Phones

Filed under: How-To,Linux — Brandon @ 7:22 am
Tags: , , , ,

At the time of this writing, I use a Motorola KRZR K1m for my personal mobile phone. Needless to say, the phone comes with software that runs on Windows, not Linux, so I have a 1GB Micro SD card for transferring pictures to my PC. I’ve done a little research on how to make the phone interact with Linux and my findings are as follows.

A program called moto4lin is available on Sourceforge and is based on the P2K platform. It allows you to view the phone’s file system and edit files. While the app isn’t ancient, there doesn’t appear to be any active development at the time of this writing. I first made note of this app in July 2007, the site was last updated in mid-September 2008 and the last comment on the Main Page was added in May 2006.

This page by Stephen Evanchik details adding ringtones to a RAZR V3, and I suspect the same method can be used with the K1m. The basic steps are:

  1. Convert a sound/music file to a 20 second MP3 file (44.1kHz, 64kbps, <200kb).
  2. Copy the MP3 file to /a/mobile/audio on the phone.
  3. Set phone to silent mode.
  4. Delete the MyToneDB.db & TempToneDB.db files.
  5. Reboot the phone, remove from silent mode and browse for the new ringtone.

Finally, here are a few links on setting up Bluetooth on Ubuntu:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

