Great Bumperstickers

The following is a list of sayings that I have either found on bumperstickers or think would make for good ones.

General

  • Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.

Human Nature

  • Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once.
  • To err is human. To blame it on someone else shows management potential.
  • Good things come to those who wait, but bad things show up right away.
  • You have a point … but if you wore a hat, no one would notice.
  • I’d agree with you, but then we’d both be wrong.

Political

  • The Opposite of Progress is Congress.
  • God will judge Bin Laden. Army Rangers will set up the meeting.
  • He ain’t Kinky, he’s my Governor. [Kinky Friedman gubernatorial campaign, 2006, Texas]
  • My Governor is a Jewish Cowboy [Kinky Friedman gubernatorial campaign, 2006, Texas; response to pro-Jesus ‘My Boss Is A Jewish Carpenter’ sticker]
  • Texas: we don’t care how you did it in California.

Military

  • USMC: When It Absolutely, Positively Has To Be Destroyed Overnight.

Geeky

  • Products of Berkeley U: LSD and BSD. Coincidence? [adapted from quote attributed to Jeremy S. Anderson]
  • Yes, I use Linux. So SU Me. [pun on Unix ‘superuser’ command and reference to Microsoft’s litigious nature]
  • My other computer is a Tandem NSK [spoof of the ever-popular ‘My other car is a _____’ sticker, but intended for use on laptops]
  • If you’re not part of the solution, then you’re part of the precipitate. [science redirection]
  • Go away or I will replace you with a very small shell script.