Brandon's Notepad

March 10, 2010

The Catechism of the Catholic Church: Summary

Filed under: Christianity — Brandon @ 10:41 pm

Home > My Research > Christianity > Catechism > Summary


The Catechism is organized into four major parts. The first focuses on what the Church believes, which lays the foundation for understanding how the faithful celebrate their faith, lead good and holy lives and pray.


Prologue. Information on the Catechism itself and how to use it is found in this introductory material. [more]

Part I: The Profression of Faith. This examination of the catholic faith begins by describing how God and man relate. This covers man’s “capacity” for God and the ways in which God reveals himself and his divine plan to man. The remainder of this part, and the majority of its contains, explore in depth the facets of the Church’s creeds. Roots for many of the beliefs that non-Catholics find objectionable are explained in the context of the Nicene and Apostles’ creeds. [more]

Part II: Celebration of the Christian Mystery. Having defined catholic beliefs in the first part, the focus is shifted in the second part to the work of the Church, namely the Liturgy and the Sacraments. The Sacraments are classified by purpose (initiation, healing & service) and then described in detail.

Part III: Life in Christ. Morality is the primary focus of the third major part of the Catechism. The nature of man as a creation of God leads into various aspects of morality, sins and virtues, man’s role in society, and then the topics of justification and grace. The second half of this part is dedicated to exploring the Ten Commandments and thier implications for the faithful.

Part IV: Christian Prayer. This final part covers the universal call for all Christians to pray. Various types of prayer are explored. The petitions of the Lord’s Prayer are also covered in detail.


Blog at

%d bloggers like this: