Brandon's Notepad

April 15, 2011

Creating Movie DVD ISO Images

Filed under: How-To,Linux — Brandon @ 1:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve taken an interest in networked media players, like the WD TV Live series of devices. Some of these devices will play DVD ISO images. The idea is that an ISO file can be mounted and read just like the filesystem on the DVD itself. From what I’ve read, this is not necessarily as easy as running the trusty ‘dd’ command – something to do with variable block sizes or something like that, but I’ll leave that for others to explain for now. This is a how-to page for creating ISO images that play.

Incidentally, I don’t advocate stealing music or movies in any way. Artists absolutely deserve to be payed for their work, so I buy my albums and movies. I find nothing wrong with creating backup copies of these things for non-public use, and I’m fairly certain that U.S. law still permits this (fair use).


K3B

I already use this utility to burn CDs and such. I have used it to burn ISO images to data CDs, primarily Linux distros, but I’ve not tried using it for audio or video projects yet. More to come…

vobcopy

This is a command-line utility and it looks promising. I will try this one after trying K3B above. For now, here are some useful links: vobcopy manpage, a newbie tutorial, Mac-based tutorial on YouTube (I think this guy was stoned while filming), this insightful snippet. The vobcopy utility just copies the VOB files – the ISO file must be compiled with mkisofs. More to come…

dvdbackup

On the list to try. Sourceforge project page More to come…

K9Copy

On the list to try. Sourceforge project page More to come…

Cat

Is it possible that the ‘cat’ command will work? The example provided on this page is ‘cat /dev/dvd/ > $HOME/video.iso’. Call me skeptical, but I’ll have to verify this one for myself – I have a feeling this is what copy protection prevents.

Ubuntu

According to this post, Ubuntu (8.10) provides a ‘Copy Disc’ option. This, too, should be easy to test out once I obtain a player.


Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

