Brandon's Notepad

November 8, 2011

November 8, 2011: Harker

Filed under: My Stack — Brandon @ 4:57 pm

Joshua Harker, Digital Sculpture
Joshua Harker draws "tangles" which I would describe as Celtic knotwork drawn by an ADD-afflicted M. C. Escher copycat. They look a lot like what I used to draw on my high school book covers, quite honestly, which may be why I like them so much. The difference is that, while I was doodling, he was perfecting a technique. As if his tangles weren’t cool enough, he decided to start sculpting them from bronze and other materials using 3D printing technology to make the molds. Check out his online portfolio for some great photos of his work. He also spotlights an intricate skull-based sculpture that he has named Crania Anatomica Filigre, a project funded on Kickstarter (linked below). It looks like the brainchild of a crackhead henna-tattoo artist gone crazy with Yorick’s noggin and a Dremel tool. Hey, I just call them as I see them, ok!
http://www.joshharker.com/
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/joshharker/crania-anatomica-filigre-me-to-you

Blog at WordPress.com.

