Brandon's Notepad

October 21, 2013

Creepy Art

Home > My Lists > Art > Creepy Art


Some art is just plain creepy. It’s not a bad thing, it’s just how some people want to express themselves. I kinda like creepy art, actually, but only in small doses depending on what it is. A few pieces have caught my eye in recent years, so I figured it was time that I start a list. At least for now, the list is in alphabetical order by artist’s last name.


Nikolaus Baumgarten. The Zoomquilt is a trip through a creepy fantasy universe. This online journey begins with one scene and the image begins to zoom inward to another embedded scene, and then another, and another, seamlessly tied together with what look like twisted, orange rails. It is a loop, so you end up back in the original scene eventually.

Su Blackwell. Ms. Blackwell uses pages from books, leveraging cut-out images to create book sculptures. I particularly like the ones of Alice and Snow White.

Brian Dettmer. I originally found Mr. Dettmer’s sculptures posted on Pinterest and had to do an image search to find his site. His Altered Books series is absolutely fascinating! I could stare at them for hours.

Joshua Harker. I posted about Harker‘s tangle art in My Stack two years ago, and I’m pleased to add his name to this list. Once in a while I go back to his site to view his Crania Anatomica Filigre in all of its glorious detail (I just love the playing card suit symbols inscribed on the forehead).

Tony Tasset. Stroll down Main Street in downtown Dallas to find a thirty-foot eyeball staring back at you. This piece was moved from Chicago to Dallas in 2013. The artist’s other works include the ‘Capuchine Chandelier’ inspired by the mummies in the catacombs of the Capuchine monastery in Sicily, and a few other strange creations.


Blog at WordPress.com.

