Brandon's Notepad

August 25, 2014

Android Applications: PDF Readers

Filed under: Android,Computer Software — Brandon @ 1:50 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Home > My Lists > Android Applications > PDF Readers


I rely on the PDF format a lot! Besides the e-books, technical manuals, tax forms, and what not that I download, I also create PDFs for archival of my own documents. Having said that, it’s good to have options!


Evaluation Criteria

PDF Readers are like Web Browsers in that you expect them to render the page properly at a minimum. They can vary on how well that perform even that simple text. Then, there is navigation, how smoothly the page scrolls for example, and whether or not the links in the tables of contents work. The little things matter too, like the ability to perform text searches or jump to a particular page. In the past, I have experienced compatibility problems with PDFs created using non-Adobe software, so I need a reader that can handle them. I’d also love having the ability to annotate PDFs (highlight, write in the margins, etc.).

Selected App Reviews

Adobe Reader. The old standby! Reviews confirm that it works, but can be slow and may not read non-Adobe PDFs. I have not yet had these issues myself. It does support bookmarks, text search, sharing, several page-flow options, and “go to page” via a slider.

PDF To Go. It came loaded with the tablet. Very basic. Cannot even “go to page” with the free version.

ezPDF Reader. Full version ($3) permits annotation, personal bookmarks, and some other neat features. Some reviewers have noted some limitations, including the inability to read from SD card. Haven’t tried it yet.


Blog at WordPress.com.

