Brandon's Notepad

January 20, 2015

Android Applications: Office Suites

Home > My Lists > Technology > Android Applications > Office Suites


Office suite software is another genre where I found little satisfaction on the Android platform. For reading Microsoft Office files, the popular choice has always been Documents To Go (DTG) by DataViz. Other office suites exist (e.g. OfficeSuite 8, Polaris Office), but DTG keeps popping up. I think I’ve even seen it preloaded on several phones now, because I don’t remember installing it, yet there it is.

The need to view Microsoft Office documents is common, but what I really needed was an app for viewing and perhaps even editing (gasp) Open Office (OO) documents. All of the home computers run Linux and we have no Microsoft Office installations whatsoever. I really don’t want to save all of my files in a non-native format either, so for a long time it appeared that document sharing between the OO world and the tablet was limited to PDF. While writing this post, I noticed that there is an app called AndrOpen Office that seems to be oft-downloaded and rated highly, but at this point, I am not inclined to bother trying it.

Why not, you ask? Because all of my “office” work has shifted to either Evernote or Google Drive (formerly Docs). I use Evernote to store reference materials, mostly information that eventually ends up here. Drive is where I type letters and create spreadsheets, which (when finalized) I usually store in PDF format on a local drive at home. I’m still not willing to put all of my data eggs in a single cloud basket.


Blog at WordPress.com.

