Back Up WordPress ‘Blog With Wget

One risk of keeping my notepad online is the eventual disappearance of WordPress.com. Backing up my ‘blog is of utmost importance. WordPress has a built-in export function, which I do use, but it is most useful for reloading the ‘blog into a WordPress-driven site. I also wanted a way to create a local copy of my notepad for local browsing and for quick upload to a non-Wordpress site if the need arose. Enter, wget.

Wget is one very useful tool. In a nutshell, it gets files, even entire sites, from the Web. I did a quick search and found this posting that provides a recommended set of command line options. I removed the -w and -H parameters and limited the -D parameter to my ‘blog only. Also, I used the shorter flags for brevity (e.g. -m for –mirror, -k for –convert-links, etc.).

wget -m -p –E -k -Dbrandonsnotepad.wordpress.com -P ~/var/tmp/Notepad https://brandonsnotepad.wordpress.com

Now I can keep a local copy or even burn it to for use on other machines.